International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Old 08-18-2009, 08:41 PM

Question Owner Friendly Driveshaft?

After spending a significant amount of money and time overhauling my driveline ($350 alone to replace all ujoints and balance the driveshaft), I finally got to take the 77 Cherk for a spin this weekend. Unfortunately, I pushed it too far and I busted a ujoint on the rear driveshaft...and the yoke...and the weld-on yoke on the driveshaft...and damaged the driveshaft as well. What I thought was a simple replace the ujoint and install a new yoke quickly turned into another $300 project.

I'm no expert on anything related to my Jeep...I just learn as I go. But my driveshaft is quickly becoming the most expensive part I own. The problem is that with my particular driveshaft (which I presume is stock) the ujoints are simply not serviceable without a heavy-duty pnuematic press. Is this a case of "that's life...deal with it"? Before I dump another $300 into the driveshaft, I wondered if there existed a friendlier driveshaft design.

In a perfect world, I would hit the trails with a couple spare ujoints. When necessary, the ujoint would break and the driveshaft would drop with no further damage to the yoke, driveshaft, or anything else. I would grab the appropriate tools to remove the old ujoint and install the new ujoint; hook up my driveshaft; and be on my way. Is this an unreasonable expectation? If such a dream is possible, does anyone have a recommendation?

Thanks in advance for any input.
Old 08-18-2009, 09:08 PM
Big Meanie

Is it a double cardan shaft with two joints at one end and one at the other?

The ujoints aren't anything special for the stock rear shaft.
he's such big meanie that way...
please don't tell him i said that....
Old 08-18-2009, 09:31 PM