International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Old 11-07-2017, 06:41 PM
Noob!

J4000 front wheel bearings

I am new to the world of FSJ. I aquired a 71 J4000 last year. It is due for the NY safety inspection. I don’t want any surprises so I am going through the brakes. It has a strong peddle but I thought I would check them just the same. Plus one of the warn manual hubs needs to be serviced because last winter I had to use a wrench to engage it. Anyway, I pulled the front drums; the front bearings fell right out but the rear ones and oil seal didn’t. They look like they should press out but I never force anything unless I am sure. Are they a press fit and any tips on getting out.

I have been following the tech forum for some time now. It has been very helpful. My wrenching experience has been a 68 GTO and a 67 Alischalmers tractor not FAJs.
Old 11-07-2017, 09:07 PM
327 Rambler

The outer bearing cone should fall out. the rear one will come out when you pull the inner seal. I just use a piece of wood and drive the inner cone out with the seal. you could pull the seal and the bearing will fall out if you want to take the time.

Be sure to check the cones and the races good before you repack them. always replace the inner seal.
Old 11-08-2017, 11:10 AM
Noob!

Thanks much
Old 11-16-2017, 08:41 PM
327 Rambler