International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Old 08-21-2008, 03:08 AM
Master Mechanic

Looks like a bad axle bearing......

Hey all, finally got around to yanking my leaking axle shaft tonight.

I hope this isn't too asinine a thread, but please bear with me as I've never done this before.

BTW, thanks for the advice on my last thread about axle pullers.....I checked out the Harbor Freight slide hammer kit & it REALLY looked like a POS. I ended up going to Checkers and renting a slide hammer/axle puller kit. They charge you for the kit (90 bucks in this case) but you get it back in full as long as you return it within two days; 6 bucks a day after that. They've also got a bunch of different kits available.

Anyways, after yanking the axle shaft out tonight, I found that the bearing looks pretty bad....the race is pitted & galled.

Question #1 is: what's the best way to get that race out of the axle?

Question #2 is: what's the best way to get the new race into the axle? Heat the housing/chill the race? Or is the outer race supposed to be attached to the bearing?

I found a write up about this whole deal at http://www.stu-offroad.com/axle/d44/d44.htm

Looks like when he was pressing the collar onto the axle shaft the bearing had the outer race on it. I figured the outer race would have to be installed into the axle housing on it's own, but hey, I'm asking cause I haven't got a clue.

Sorry if these are really stupid questions, but like I said, I'm clueless.

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

'87 GW-360, 727/229, TFI, Holley Street Dominator manifold & Edelbrock 1406. Stock lift & tires.

Beef-It's what's for dinner....cause there ain't no d@mn shrimp in Colorado!

Last edited by cajunKen : 11-22-2008 at 01:02 PM.
Old 08-21-2008, 03:44 AM