International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2003, 10:21 AM
kreb's Avatar
kreb kreb is offline
Master Mechanic
 
Join Date: Dec 03, 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,340
Post

exactly what the title says.

benjamin
__________________
Kreboneer
1991 Grand Wagoneer
360/ 2150
4" Rusty's lift 32x11.5 BFG KM, 1.5" block rear MSD/TFI, Pioneer sound
'85 grill, '78 WT wheels
houston, tx
hermanbloom79@yahoo.com
"if you don't have time to do it right, you don't have time to do it twice." - stolen from another board member who's name i can't recall
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2003, 02:07 PM
billyrb's Avatar
billyrb billyrb is offline
BJ's Off-Road
 
Join Date: Aug 15, 2001
Location: Acworth, GA 30101
Posts: 10,031
Post

What you have in your dash should be an Ammeter. And yes, you can replace it. You can actually alter one so that it bypasses the problem our jeeps have with the ammeter's burning up. But, it's far easier to just buy a new one that is aftermarket. Also, it's a good idea to buy a voltmeter, and mount it in the engine compartment. Do a search using my member number about upgraded wiring.....should explain it all.
__________________
BJ's Off-Road
ryan@bjsoffroad.com
Your source for '63-'91 FSJ Parts
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2003, 02:24 PM
Sitting Bull Sitting Bull is offline
FSJ Maniac
 
Join Date: Sep 18, 2000
Location: Atlanta, Ga, USA
Posts: 3,471
Post

An ampmeter, in general, is a bad idea regardless of the make or model. Car manufacturers have caught on to this, and quit making them. If yours is malfunctioning, bypass it now, or you will be driving a toasty one very soon. To bypass...there will be two wires going into the meter, one on each terminal. Take the nuts off, hook both wires around one terminal, put both nuts on it really tight. Pretty simple job to save your investment.

Then just get an aftermarket volt gauge, hook it up, and your set.
__________________
Brad Reardon<br />1977ish Cherokee Chief.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2003, 04:13 PM
Ed Jack Ed Jack is offline
Master Mechanic
 
Join Date: Oct 30, 2001
Location: Ashby, Massachusetts
Posts: 990
Post

well, here's a question, is there anyone who sells a ammeter sending unit? I mean, couldn't you put an ammeter near the battery, and then just send low voltage to a needle on the dash? Ideally it'd be nice if you could replace a stock ammeter with this setup, or convert one.
__________________
72 CJ5
12 JK

Formerly 88GW, 79 J10, 81J10, 99WJ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2003, 04:24 PM
joe joe is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 28, 2000
Location: PNWet, USA
Posts: 22,392
Post

I'm sure a gauge repair shop can rebuild your stock voltmeter(yes it's a voltmeter not an ampmeter) but it's not really worth it unless you're doing a 100 pt resto. Just get one from another 87(?) up Wag. The earlier ones had amp gauges. Or mount an aftermarket one and run your existing wires to the new gauge. But you should be able to get a whole used instrument cluster for $40 or so.

[ April 08, 2003, 10:25 PM: Message edited by: -joe ]
__________________
joe
"Don't mind me. I'm just here for the alibi"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2003, 10:55 PM
Nobby Nobby is offline
Grease Monkey
 
Join Date: Jul 29, 2002
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 361
Post

Yes you can purchase an aftermarhet ammeter and install the shunt(sending unit) in what can be deemed a more logical/safer place in the engine bay.
Cannot really see how you could convert the original, you'd have to take it apart and somehow remove its internal shunt and replace with external shunt of equal resistance. Could be done I guess, but this is not an issue for you because as Joe said you have a voltmeter.
Its a shame that car manufacturers couldn''t figure out a safe way to install ammeters because they do give a better indication on your charging status/load status.
__________________
87 Stock V8 GW<br />49 Austin A40 Devon Pickup<br />84 Saab 900 Turbo<br />72 Citroen DS21 Station Wagon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2003, 12:22 AM
tuckers89GW tuckers89GW is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Oct 17, 2000
Location: Strawberry Point, Iowa, USA
Posts: 2,365
Post

If you want to keep your VOLTMETER in the stock location on the dash, just find another to replace it(stock that is). If you don't care about that just buy an aftermarket one and mount it where you please. Thats what I'm going to do as mine doesn't read even close to correct.

[ April 09, 2003, 06:23 AM: Message edited by: tuckers89GW ]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2003, 03:40 AM
kreb's Avatar
kreb kreb is offline
Master Mechanic
 
Join Date: Dec 03, 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,340
Post

yes it is a voltmeter. i have a '91. i guess i will go aftermarket on this one. i would like to keep it stock but i don't know i that is cost effective. thanks

benjamin
__________________
Kreboneer
1991 Grand Wagoneer
360/ 2150
4" Rusty's lift 32x11.5 BFG KM, 1.5" block rear MSD/TFI, Pioneer sound
'85 grill, '78 WT wheels
houston, tx
hermanbloom79@yahoo.com
"if you don't have time to do it right, you don't have time to do it twice." - stolen from another board member who's name i can't recall
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-09-2003, 07:19 AM
letank's Avatar
letank letank is offline
AMC 4 OH! 1
 
Join Date: Jun 03, 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3,999
Post

how much is a stock voltmeter..... not too much, worth checking the yards.... or calling your jeep dealer

let's see if a ignition lock is $14 at the zone and the dealer is $60, then a stock voltmeter should be about $60

Michel
__________________
Michel
74 wag, 349Kmiles on original ticker/trany, except for the rust. Will it make it to the next get together without a rebuilt? Status: needs a new body.
85 Gwag, 226 Kmiles. $250 FSJ test lab since 02, that refuses to give up but still leaks.

See Ouray 2013, Engine bits and Fuel and brake lines, and Body work
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
corner corner