International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Discussion

Old 02-27-2014, 11:59 AM

What's a 1976 Wagoneer 401 worth??

Hi, Newbie here...

I have the opportunity to get a 1976 Waggy, but the price seems a bit high perhaps?

Here's a link to the craigslist ad:
http://roseburg.craigslist.org/cto/4350209425.html

It has low miles and is in pretty good shape, just don't know the value of these guys. Others I see on craigslist are cheaper, but don't have the 401 and are not as nice.

What things should I look for? common problems?

Thanks in advance,
Mike
Old 02-27-2014, 12:32 PM

There's no set book value on these. It's pretty much how bad you you want it and what you'll pay. If it were bone stock to me the price is still a bit high but as modified I wouldn't even consider it but that's just me. For $4500 "everything" should be in excellent condition and work flawlessly.
I personally don't like PO lifted rigs. Too high of a % of botched installs out there. Too many just lifted for looks and not dialed in correctly. If I were to test drive a lifted rig I'd THOROUGHLY test drive it at HWY speeds with some panic stops thrown in, cross a series of bumps/ RR tracks at speed looking for shimmy/wobbles/vibes/clunks etc. Any used rig near 40 years old is a gamble and owner modified doesn't swing the odds in your favor. Don't abuse it on a test drive but test everything in all likely normal use conditions. Straightening out a short cut buggered up lift is a time consuming and possibly expensive PITA.
Old 02-27-2014, 12:33 PM
All Makes Combined

If there's not much more than surface rust, I'd strongly consider it. I'd haggle but if he stood firm on $4,500 and I really wanted a mid-seventies FSJ (which are my favorites) with that color combo (and 401!), then I wouldn't feel too bad paying that.