International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Old 10-15-2005, 06:46 AM
Master Mechanic

My alternator has always had a problem charging at startup. I have to rev the motor after starting so the alternator will will go above 10volts to 13 or 14. i have been running this way for 7 years unable to solve the problem.

well recently i can not get the alternator to start working properly. The alternator did this before i replaced the original 3 or so years ago. I can tell that the headlights and gauge lights brighten when the voltmeter reads properly. so i am confident it is not a faulty reading. can the voltmeter have a problem to prevent the alternator from charging?

i have driven the car for a couple of days and the battery has not died.
i am away at school so i don't have all my tools but i got my hands on a voltmeter. i appreciate any help.

the belts look good and tight. there does not seem to be and sqealing or noises from the alternator.

benjamin
4" Rusty's lift 32x11.5 BFG KM, 1.5" block rear MSD/TFI, Pioneer sound
'85 grill, '78 WT wheels
houston, tx
hermanbloom79@yahoo.com
"if you don't have time to do it right, you don't have time to do it twice." - stolen from another board member who's name i can't recall
Old 10-15-2005, 12:29 PM
FSJ Maniac

Time for a new alternator. Sounds like the exciter wire was unplugged, or your alternator had been rigged to be a "one wire" setup, which can cause what you describe.
"Battlewagon": 1986 Jeep Grand Wagoneer (w/ Tow Pack) - Urban Assault Wagon under construction - TFI, TBI, CS144, Aftermarket Sanden, Explorer Power Seats, 4" Lift, 16" AHI wheels and much much more; click here for a full list of modifications and gear, links to writeups/posts and more info.

Daily Driver: Modified 1987 Jaguar XJ6 Vanden Plas.
Old 10-16-2005, 04:15 AM