International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Discussion

Old 04-18-2011, 10:47 AM

Engine coolant leak - additive?

My 1984 GW with 150K miles has a small coolant leak in the engine. I can't tell where it is coming from. The attached photo shows amount of coolant after the GW sits about a week.

Can I use a coolant engine leak additive to stop this leak. If so what do you recommend? I have been fixing leaks for a couple of years and this is the last one. Engine runs great after warmed up. cold blooded when first starts.

Lincoln Locker Front, Detroit Locker in rear.
Old 04-18-2011, 11:04 AM
Gear Head

What area is le leak comming from? Front or back of the engine. Crawl under the truck and look at the freeze plugs on either side of the engine block. Also inspect around your timing cover, water pump and look around the thermostat housing. These parts are aluminum and will spawn leaks when the engine cools down. With that kind of mileage on the engine those are the areas I would look first. You can also have the cooling system pressure tested for leaks. good luck.
Old 04-18-2011, 11:09 AM
Gear Head

By looking more closely at your picture, looks like its comming from the lower radiator hose. Check the connections on the hose and squeez it with your hand (engine cold) and see if it leaks at either connection.
Old 04-18-2011, 11:34 AM

The ponding of the coolant is from the slope of the drain pan. The leak coming from the front of the engine and runs by the fuel pump and down to the oil pan gasket. then follows the oil pan until it drips off.
I have resealed the theromstat housing and checked all the hoses. seams to be coming from the top front of the engine.
Lincoln Locker Front, Detroit Locker in rear.
Old 04-18-2011, 12:03 PM
Gear Head