International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2012, 09:30 PM
imiceman44 imiceman44 is offline
Gear Head
 
Join Date: Feb 25, 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 711
bench testing a 360???

So I pulled my 360 out of the Waggy and sold the waggy.
Now I am putting my 360 on an engine stand and I want to test it, I do have all the electronics, but the wiring harness is gone with the Jeep. So my question to save me time figuring out how to power it, anyone know the minimum I need to get this engine running on a stand?
Thanks in advance.
IceMan
__________________
IceMan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2012, 11:45 PM
Rich88's Avatar
Rich88 Rich88 is offline
FSJ Maniac
 
Join Date: Nov 20, 2008
Location: Wilds of Ellington, CT
Posts: 4,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by imiceman44
So I pulled my 360 out of the Waggy and sold the waggy.
Now I am putting my 360 on an engine stand and I want to test it, I do have all the electronics, but the wiring harness is gone with the Jeep. So my question to save me time figuring out how to power it, anyone know the minimum I need to get this engine running on a stand?
Thanks in advance.
IceMan

Well, the starter bolts to the tranny housing, not the engine, so you'd have a hard time starting it without that. You'd have to build a custom stand to accomodate everything.
__________________
Jeepasaurus (Wagonus Grandi quadropedus)
88 GW 360-.030 over/2150/727/229/Posi, e-pump, AC (broke), tow package, Monroe Air Shocks, TFI, CTO-Free, AIR-free, oil & tranny coolers, dried knuckle blood all over, GM 350 TBI in a box, waiting...
"You're an FSJ'r when the parts guys memorize your name, phone & credit card#."

Last edited by Rich88 : 04-14-2012 at 11:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2012, 04:14 AM
imiceman44 imiceman44 is offline
Gear Head
 
Join Date: Feb 25, 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich88
Well, the starter bolts to the tranny housing, not the engine, so you'd have a hard time starting it without that. You'd have to build a custom stand to accomodate everything.
I know, I have the tranny here too.
Just trying to see if someone already figured out which lines to power for a quick test run, but if I don't get my answers when I am ready I will go thru the wiring diagram and figure it out.
__________________
IceMan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2012, 06:41 AM
jaber's Avatar
jaber jaber is offline
Dragin Az
 
Join Date: Oct 17, 2003
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona
Posts: 8,061
Power to the ign box and coil should make it run.
__________________
Jeff


46 cj2a

51 Willys p/u
'51 Willys Parkway Conversion
'74 CJ5
'75 J-20 Wrecker
'75 J-20 Cummins service bed
'77 J-10 p/u
'79 Cherokee
'88 Grand Wagoneer
http://s252.photobucket.com/albums/hh14/jeffaber/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2012, 11:23 AM
imiceman44 imiceman44 is offline
Gear Head
 
Join Date: Feb 25, 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaber
Power to the ign box and coil should make it run.
Thanks, can I be more of a pain and ask which color line coming in to the ign is pos and which is neg or is it just grounded on the box?
__________________
IceMan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2012, 11:47 AM
babywag's Avatar
babywag babywag is offline
out of order
 
Join Date: Jun 08, 2005
Location: Land of froot loops and cukcoo-nuts, CA
Posts: 9,668
google duraspark wiring diagram
one plug is + for crank and ignition from ignition switch
other plug runs to coil & distributor pickup
ground would be engine block
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2012, 12:00 PM
Carnuck's Avatar
Carnuck Carnuck is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 12, 2011
Location: Gold Bar, WA
Posts: 6,419
Last time I saw someone start a motor on an engine stand, it was one of theose made in China ones and it folded, destroying itself and since the motor was running, MAJOR damage ensued, including breaking of the body parts of owner and nearby vehicle. Make sure you have the front braced too!
__________________
Jeep gauges are for amusement only. Any correlation between them and reality is purely coincidental.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2012, 12:08 PM
imiceman44 imiceman44 is offline
Gear Head
 
Join Date: Feb 25, 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnuck
Last time I saw someone start a motor on an engine stand, it was one of theose made in China ones and it folded, destroying itself and since the motor was running, MAJOR damage ensued, including breaking of the body parts of owner and nearby vehicle. Make sure you have the front braced too!
Oh you don't know me.
I go overkill.
I started with a base 2000lbs HD engine stand non foldable, and then building on it for the trans mount, and it will be strapped down so it doesn't go anywhere.
__________________
IceMan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2012, 12:08 PM
imiceman44 imiceman44 is offline
Gear Head
 
Join Date: Feb 25, 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by babywag
google duraspark wiring diagram
one plug is + for crank and ignition from ignition switch
other plug runs to coil & distributor pickup
ground would be engine block
Thanks
__________________
IceMan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-15-2012, 12:18 PM
SC/397's Avatar
SC/397 SC/397 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 01, 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 866
I use a bell housing from the old cast iron Borg Warner automatic and a Pro Torq stsrter.

http://s625.photobucket.com/albums/t...ent=002-18.mp4
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-15-2012, 01:35 PM
lycanthrope's Avatar
lycanthrope lycanthrope is offline
258 I6
 
Join Date: Mar 26, 2007
Location: inland empire, ca
Posts: 379
on 'desert car kings', they pulled a motor from the junkyard, hooked it to a battery, poured some gas in the carb and fired it up(on the ground).
backfire+spilled fuel=fire, but after they put the fire out, they tried again, and got it running.
__________________
tommy
'83 j10 pioneer 258/t5/208...gone
'81 j10 sportside 258/t176/208
'76 j10 shortbed 360/th400/QT
'81 j10 sportside 258/tf999/208
'74 j10 shortbed ...gone
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-15-2012, 02:02 PM
babywag's Avatar
babywag babywag is offline
out of order
 
Join Date: Jun 08, 2005
Location: Land of froot loops and cukcoo-nuts, CA
Posts: 9,668
I've run many an engine on the ground...just don't rev 'em up and it's all good.

If I can't see/hear it run I won't buy it, or it better be dirt cheap.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-15-2012, 05:23 PM
imiceman44 imiceman44 is offline
Gear Head
 
Join Date: Feb 25, 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by babywag
I've run many an engine on the ground...just don't rev 'em up and it's all good.

If I can't see/hear it run I won't buy it, or it better be dirt cheap.
That is why I want to run it, I am selling it and don't liek to sell engines condition unknown to them or they will not pay what it's worth.
__________________
IceMan
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-15-2012, 05:25 PM
jaber's Avatar
jaber jaber is offline
Dragin Az
 
Join Date: Oct 17, 2003
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona
Posts: 8,061
I have seen this done a couple of times. LOL, it is a hoot to watch.
__________________
Jeff


46 cj2a

51 Willys p/u
'51 Willys Parkway Conversion
'74 CJ5
'75 J-20 Wrecker
'75 J-20 Cummins service bed
'77 J-10 p/u
'79 Cherokee
'88 Grand Wagoneer
http://s252.photobucket.com/albums/hh14/jeffaber/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
360 rebuild rem2506 General FSJ Tech 6 10-04-2008 05:20 PM
will a 2barrel carb off 360 fit 304? Robber80 General FSJ Tech 7 05-03-2006 06:39 AM
a few questions swapping out 360 in 401 roadgrime General FSJ Tech 3 04-03-2004 05:49 AM
360 better than 258?? Scruffy Engine 6 07-24-2000 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
corner corner