International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > Street & Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2016, 10:33 AM
see2xu's Avatar
see2xu see2xu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 18, 2013
Location: Greensboro NC; Estero, FL
Posts: 35
2300-2800 stall converter

The bill keeps mounting - ended up having the original long block rebuilt after the engine I bought calved .

It's going to be 375-400 hp once it's finished, and the builder is suggesting I upgrade the converter accordingly. Any recommendations? I know I have to get one for the AMC version of the Torqueflite - looking for brand/specification suggestions.

Still wrestling with whether to pour more money into this thing, and have Novak build me a 4L60E with their adapter kit. I will NEVER learn.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2016, 11:00 AM
Ristow Ristow is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 20, 2006
Location: The Great Googley Moogley Midwest.
Posts: 17,074
you can get the factory hi stall unit rebuilt from transtar for about 100 bucks.

the hi stall is about 200-300 rpm higher than the lo stall that jeep used behind the v8. it's works good for what you are doing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hankrod
Ristows right.................again,




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
... like the little 'you know what's' that you are.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
I LOVE how Ristow has stolen my comment about him ... "Quoted" it ... and made himself famous for being an ***hole to people. Hahahahahahahahahha!


→ Where the kids hang out...

fsjbuilder.org come for the mindless chat,stay for the hand drawn emoticons.

It's like you're unraveling a big cable-knit sweater that someone keeps knitting...and knitting...and knitting...and knitting...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2016, 03:29 PM
johnbayou66's Avatar
johnbayou66 johnbayou66 is offline
Noob!
 
Join Date: Mar 13, 2014
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 2
Where are you purchasing your engine?

Are you purchasing an H/P AMC360 from CME Engines? I did (415hp at 420lb torque) and they required an 1800 to 2800 stall speed converter...

My transmission guy "Voodoo Daddy Transmissions" had my stock one rebuilt to meet this requirement, to keep from having any fitment issues. Also he added a shift kit.
__________________
Johnbayou66

Last edited by johnbayou66 : 03-30-2016 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2016, 01:27 PM
wagy401's Avatar
wagy401 wagy401 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 05, 2011
Location: netherlands
Posts: 46
keep in mind that if you go for high stall you maybe get shift problems
if you don't have a lock up !!
for street use it means that the trans shift up to the second gear and in that rpm the converter is still spinning . in that case you need to modified the transmission shift points !!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What stall torque converter djmac Off-Road FSJ Tech 9 01-24-2009 07:45 PM
What stall for a torque converter? Ziptie General FSJ Tech 5 02-20-2008 02:51 PM
Catalytic converter removal? Schlagger General FSJ Tech 12 02-19-2008 09:25 PM
torque converter recommendation crispyboy General FSJ Tech 6 07-11-2006 12:12 PM
'85 G.Wagoneer 727 torque converter, lock-up, high stall, or low stall? Luke Harris General FSJ Tech 3 01-25-2002 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
corner corner