International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > Off-Road FSJ Tech

Old 02-10-2015, 04:08 AM

77 Cherokee - Locker Questions

I'm getting ready to order some lockers for my 77 Cherokee WT, and I've never done lockers on a rig like this before. I know in a perfect world ARB would be best, but I don't want to spend that kind of $$$.

Rig is just used during the summer, pavement and old dirt roads. Might jump in it, drive 50-60 miles on pavement, then hit dirt roads/logging trails for another 30 miles. Locker would be for the occasional culvert out, washout etc. Currently lifted with 35" BFG muds.

In the past I've used an aussie in the front on my XJ, but since this jeep has manual hubs, is it worth going with an auto or would a spool be better/cheaper since I can unlock the hubs and it would be invisible on road? Plus if steering is tight I can leave one hub unlocked as well.

As for the rear I've never has a rear locker, DD in the snow was my 4x4. This jeep, being manual, I would think having an auto locker would be bad there, too? As in the locking/unlocking as I shift could be annoying and erratic especially if someone else is driving? I was thinking spool there would be more consistant and only noticeable in a tight parking lot or something, which this jeep will rarely see.

Hopefully some of that makes sense, I have the $ for Aussies front and rear, but if they aren't right for the application and something easier/cheaper can be used instead I'm all for going that route.

Thanks for any advice you can throw my way.
Old 02-10-2015, 08:51 AM
Always Broke

If you are going to drive it on snow and ice a front locker (automatic or spool) will cause it to drive different than open. I would either go arb or open.